Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Drew Paralic Jazz Composer: News/Blog

My Nights at:

Posted on September 17, 2018
BAR 55
Kendra Shank led a quartet with one of my favorite musicians on drums, Matt Wilson. I spoke with him and talked of his melodic playing, and the playing of Vinnie Sperrazza, who I was lucky to have play on a bunch of my stuff. Matt also is a fan of Vinnie’s playing!
Jacob Sacks—the pianist, who along with Vinnie Sperrazza (drums), Mike McGinnis (multi-reeds), and Dave Ambrosio (bass)—drove down to Philly to perform a set of my music at a jazz fest in September of 2014, led a quintet at CSCafé Saturday night. It was an evening of avant- guard jazz music, all originals. Jacob is a very talented musician! *
*Be sure to check my LINKS page for the musician's who played on my recordings websites*

My night at Smoke

Posted on September 12, 2018
My jazz club visitor partner, pianist James Newman, and I went to Smoke Jazz Club, one of our favorites. They featured a Charlie Parker celebration: Vincent Herring, alto sax, led a quintet featuring Gary Bartz, also alto—Bird’s instrument, Dave Karkowski, piano, Carl Allen, drums, and a bass player who’s name escapes me now—a Japanese cat I believe. They were way hot!! And the food was delicious—fried calamari and fish tacos. I may go to Cornelia Street Café this weekend: pianist Jacob Sacks leads a quintet...

My night at Mezzrow

Posted on August 19, 2018
On Thursday evening, I was set to see the legendary Shelia Jordan (almost 90 now!).  Unfortunately, she called in sick, but she asked Kendra Shank to fill in. At first I was disappointed, but wanted to hear some live jazz, so after snacking at Otto's Tacos--just around the corner on 7th ave so.--my friend and I joined some more friends and went to the club. Kendra performed with the same bassist and pianist as Shelia was to play with: Cameron Brown and Albeto Piribi, respectively. It was fantastic.  Kendra had that bee-bop swing thing going on, as did the other musicians. "Blue Monk", and Abby Lincoln's "Throw It Away" were two of the highlights in a solid set.  Afterwards I spoke with Kendra for 5-10 min--we bonded, and exchanged cards. She is steeped in the tradition and worked/studied with many jazz greats including Abby, Shelia, Jay Clayton, Shirley Horn and the great drummer, Matt Wilson.  I hope to get another chance to see Shelia though...

My night at Dizzy's

Posted on May 16, 2018
The Glenn Zaleski Trio was swingin' last night at Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola, my favorite jazz club in NYC--part of Lincoln Center Jazz: the views are spectacular, the music always first rate, and the food...a New Orlean's vibe!
Prior to his gig, I asked Glenn about walking bass (left hand when executed on piano).  He said that Dave McKenna was the best at this, most consistent. Dave was a local Boston-based piano player who actually didn't think of himself as a jazz pianist.  Many would and do disagree!  I am sure you can find some of his recordings on spotify, deezer, whatnot.  (Where you can find mine too, you know!)

Glenn Zaleski Trio

Posted on May 8, 2018
My friend, and a sometime piano teacher, is headlining at Dizzy's next Tuesday!  Here are some of his influences for jazz in particular: Dave Brubeck, Chick Corea, Bill Evans, Keith Jarrett, Herbie Hancock, Brad Mehldau, Fred Hersch, Sullivan Fortner, Bud Powell, Art Tatum, Erroll Garner, Wynton Kelly.  He travels all over the world playing that damn jazz music--and he is only 30!  The hardest working man in jazz. Check out his website:

Next Page

RSS feed